I was hopeful that by some miracle my foot would be better today. It isn’t.

I was hopeful that I would be able to pedal even with reduced power. I can’t. I know because I have just tried to cycle around the block and from the first pedal stroke I knew it wasn’t going to happen.

It’s difficult accepting that you are injured for an event you have spent so long looking forward to. I can’t walk properly let along cycle for 5 hours.

I want to say that I will come back stronger but right now I feel like the mug who doesn’t get the joke while everyone else is laughing their heads off.

The only saving grace is that the hotel is refundable and I didn’t shell out for train tickets. But that’s offset by the cycle computer that I bought for the event that will sit in it’s box now for an undetermined length of time.

