Totals:

A mixed bag, generally the same number of activities but the distance dropped due to week long holiday and 2 events. Headline figures below:

13 runs (32 miles) up 3 runs and down 18 miles

6 cycle rides (42 miles) down 2 rides up 2 rides and 40 miles

7 swims (3800 yds) up 5 swims  and 1400 yards

 

Summary:

In terms of running, the purple patch of March finished leaving me returning to the usual ‘not good enough’ thoughts. The calf siezed during the Southwell Triathlon and I struggled to recover following the Langtoft 10k. No PB’s were broken. I have lost all my distance running ability.

I did very little cycling, concentrating on brick sessions so cycling to the leisure centre and back. I do feel I haven’t been keeping on top of things since the Rutland Sportive. That being said I did well in the Southwell Triathlon cycling leg.

Swimming is going well. Breaststroke is comfortable and reasonably quick, I set a couple of 400m PB’s and also increased my distance to 800m. Front crawl is progressing too.

 

Injury:

Calf seized during the Southwell Sprint Triathlon causing me to ease off, and been a little niggly since.

 

 

Highlights:

1. Becoming a Triathlete with a good performance

2. Swimming progress

 

Plans:

 

  1. Longer distance runs (up to 8-10 miles)
  2. More hills and speedwork during the running to get to 60-minute 10k target by end of May
  3. More road cycling
  4. More of everything
