With just under 2 weeks to go until the OSB Southwell Triathlon (!) I thought I would plan my last two weeks of training. I would just say that just writing this line has sent a shiver down my spine.

In running terms they say the last 1-2 weeks should be taper weeks where any gains in training will not help you on the day. I am not too sure whether that still holds true for Triathlon. Am I ready? Yes.

  • Swim: I had wanted to be able to do front crawl but my learning just hasn’t kept up, I will breaststroke my way through. When I entered I had a 400m PB of 14 minutes+ and I had put 12 minutes as my estimated time. I have now gone under 12 minutes three times.
  • Cycle: I can do the distance as I did in the Rutland Sportive. I have been Zwifting distances up to 16 miles since. 18k is about 11 miles. The concern I have is to ensure I put the helmet on first so I don’t get disqualified. I am not using cleats, I am going to use my running shoes.
  • Run: A mixed bag, I have done 3-4 runs over 8 miles in past 6 weeks including a Half Marathon at the start of March. I have been focusing on shorter, quicker distances since then. I am not expecting PB’s but I am expecting a time close to 30 minutes.

So I my last two weeks will look like this:
MON: 4.5 Mile Run
TUE: Brick Cycle 4 miles/Swim 600m/Cycle 4 miles
WED: 16 Mile Cycle
THU: 3-4 Miles Interval Run
FRI: OFF
SAT: 4-5 Miles Run
SUN: OFF

MON: 5k Run
TUE: Brick Cycle 4 miles/Swim 600m/Cycle 4 miles
WED: OFF
THU: 3-4 Miles Interval Run
FRI: OFF
SAT: OFF
SUN: TRIATHLON!!!

Lets do this!

southwell

