Totals:

March marks a drop in swimming due to a skin infection. Headline figures below:

10 runs (50 miles) up 1 run and 4 miles

8 cycle rides (85 miles) up 2 rides and 40 miles

2 swims (1400 yds) down 2 swims and 600 yards

Summary:

In terms of running, the highlight wasn’t the Cambridge Half Marathon. I was a little nervous ahead of the Half and although first 10-11 miles were good, I struggled towards the end and ended up run/walking the last 2 miles. The highlight is in fact the last 2 weeks of the month where I seem to have entered a ‘Purple Patch’. Confidence is high, I am feeling stronger and running faster. I am probably in decent 5k/10k PB shape right now. Long may it last.

My favorite session of March was the Cycling Sportive, I loved it. The distance was fine despite being a significant step up in total distance – and I felt strong towards the end. I am keen to see how my Zwifting has affected my real-world cycling times in my (semi) regular Cranfield Loop. I have also enjoyed cycling on my Hybrid Bike and it’s nice to be able to have different types of cycle rides.

Swimming started well but a skin infection has meant that I haven’t been able to get into the pool much. Now that I have finished antibiotics I am hopeful to spend some more time swimming.

Overall this is a positive month.

Injury:

None (touch wood) although legs and body are sore from last two runs especially the Trim Trail

10 days of swimming (7 day antibiotics)

Highlights:

1. Running ‘Purple Patch’

2. Rutland Sportive

3. Cambridge Half Marathon

Plans:

An ease-off week next week, with only a few activities planned.

Next month will hopefully bring the first 10k of the season as well my first triathlon ever! The Peterborough Green Wheel is still on the horizon.

