Given we are in March I thought it would be a good time to write down my goals for the remainder of the year.

While March may seem a strange time to be writing this post, I have been busy with the first 2 objectives of the year namely the Cambridge Half Marathon and Rutland Sportive. The most important conseration when settings goals is that they must be SMART (not smart, but SMART).

A SMART Goal is:

  • S: Specific
  • M: Measurable
  • A: Achievable
  • R: Realistic
  • T: Time-based

 

There are plenty of different words used to represent the acronym but ultimately the aim is the same, a SMART goal is one that can be achieved and not merely a pipe dream.

Me competing in the Olympics = not SMART
Me losing 2 kg within 3 months = SMART (although does push the realistic boundry)
So here are my SMART goals:

1. Complete the Southwell Sprint Triathlon

A nice simple one to start with. I want to be able to complete my first Triathlon, my time during the event doesn’t matter. Completion is key. Not last is a bonus. (End of April)

2. Sub 60 minute 10k by end of May

I have completed one sub-60 minute 10k but it wasn’t chip timed and so my ‘official’ time is 60:01. While I know I did sub-60 I want to repeat the feat and have selected the London 10,000 as my target. I am going to do more speedwork and hill based training. I have an overarching aim of recording quicker times – there was a period where I regularly did sub-30 minute 5k’s and I would like to get back to that.

3. Complete the London to Brighton ride (and cycle up Ditching Beacon) by end of June.

The cycling up Ditching Beacon is a nice to have as it is not solely dependent on me. The hill can get so congested with people walking their bikes that it is simply not possible to get up. That being said I am really looking forward to the BHF London to Brighton ride.

4. Sub 2:15 Half Marathon by end of October

Pushing the 3-6 month boat slightly, but given training required – need to be added. 2:17 is my PB. 2:23 was my last Half Marathon time. I want to get under 2:15 which is achievable but I will fail this task if I fail #2.

