In my last post about my run club (here) I described some of the issues I/we were having with the Run Club. What happened after that was we created a list of proposals we were going to make to try and make the club a great, inclusive, and fun place for all. However the poor behavior continued.

There are 15 members of the run club committee and even if 5 of them are favourable there are too many of the old guard who are unwilling to change. It’s like banging your head against a wall. So have decided to leave the run club.

I have sent my email to the membership secretary advises that I do not want to renew and to formally resign from the club.

It’s hard to point to a single incident which warranted such drastic action, but the flip side is that in the 3 years I have been a member I have had a total of 4 people speak to me from the club and a lot of public abuse via Facebook. I will not miss the club.

A few of us are looking to create a little group and just run, enjoy running without the politics. There is even the option of joining the neighbouring town’s run club which is a world apart from ours. It’s probably telling that two towns of similar size and social standing, in one there are 10-15 people turning up for a club night and the other 90+.

 

 

