I am not really superstitious, but by the same token when things are going well I prefer to keep them going rather than rocking the boat changing things up. Unfortunately that’s not possible with running. The simple fact is that running shoes need replacing, and the manufacturers of the shoes are constantly changing them. Making small changes every year. The result of which is that is is difficult to buy the same pair 12 months apart.

When I first started running I went to a local shop which a very good reputation to have my gait analysed and shoes suggested. Not knowing any better they put me in Brooks Adrelaline GTS 13’s. After an initial difficult period things stablised. My first pair of shoes cost me £110. Six months later they were on sale for £50. I bought another pair.

The general recommendation is that shoes need replacing every 500 miles or 12 months whichever occurs first. Allegedly the materials break down over time and the shoe doesn’t provide the same level of support and cushioning that it did at the start. This is told to us by shoe manufactures and retailers who have a clear motive to keep shoes being churned.

Personally I think that the above guide is just that, a very rough guide – and unfortunately for me, not accurate. I have a bad gait, I heel strike and overpronate. As a result my shoes take a battering and seem to die around 400 miles. That for me is every 10 months or so. I am no longer able to get version 13 of the shoe, so I changed to version 14. Version 14 was released in 2014. We are now in 2017 and it is not possible to buy 14’s any more. Even 15’s are hard to come by, so it’s either v16 or v17.

I went back to the running shop, 3 years later and whereas last time they recommended v13, this time they recommended v17, The reassuring thing is that my gait hasn’t really changed and hopefully the new shoe wont be too much different to the last.

So with new shoes, you have to break them in. Wear them for a few days and go on some short runs. I generally try and run both in parallel for a few weeks so the jump is gradual.

On Thursday I ran a easy 10k in 70 mins. That’s about 11:30 minutes/per mile in my old shoes. Today I went for a second run in my new shoes, 3k walk/run at approx 12 minute mile. My legs are more sore from the 3k run in the new shoes that the 10k in the old.

By alternating, and using the new shoes for my shorter runs, I am hoping to make the switch in about 2 weeks.

